Zeppolli Recipe

This is my Zeppolli Recipe. I remember eating these in Little Italy way back when. It’s one of my favorite Italian deserts. They are deep fried dough covered in powdered sugar. When I got them in Little Italy they usually put them in a bag full of the powdered sugar and shook the bag to fully coat them. I haven’t been back in a while so I don’t know how they do it now.
My recipe has a Spanish twist to it. I added an extra ingredient, plus I’m showing you how to make a chocolate sauce to go with it in case you don’t want to use the powered sugar. I also enjoy these with strawberries in sauce, a cup of hot chocolate or just plain.
Ok enough talk…this is how you make it.
YOU WILL NEED
– 1 stick of butter
– 1/2 cup of water
– a pinch of salt
-1/4 cup of sugar
– 1 cup of flour
– 1/2 cup of corn meal (This Spanish twist is optional)
– 3 eggs

HEAT AND MELT the stick of butter ( I use Blue Bell ),the 1/2 cup of water, the pinch of salt and the 1/4 cup of sugar together.
*Once it’s all melted remove it from the heat.
Quickly
mix in the 1 cup of flour to the melted butter. Continue to mix quickly Add one egg at a time and continue to mix quickly in between each one. If you want to put the Spanish twist then you add the corn meal and continue to mix it quickly.
If your mix is somewhat watery its ok cause you gonna fry that stuff and it’s going to turn into a solid. It happens…it’s good…and I think its supposed to be that way anyway.
ok now…
HEAT oil in a deep pan until it reaches 325°-350°. ( I use Canola oil…use what you want. I don’t recommend Olive oil obviously. )
Once the oil is that temperature you can take a small amount of the mix place it in the oil. It fries rather quickly, keep your eyes on it and turn them over till golden all around.
* You can use a small spoon to place the mix in the oil. I just use my 1/4 cup measure.

It’s simpler than it sounds … I make it all the time. My mother always asks me to make it.
OH!
***If you want to make the sauce all you need is a 3/4 cup of heavy cream and 2 oz of Bitter sweet chocolate. Melt it and you can either serve it on the side or drizzle it on the Zeppollis.

* You can also Mix 1/4 cup of regular sugar and orange zest you can even add orange zest to the mix itself it you like.

I just pour massive amounts of powered sugar on mine and mix it ghetto style.

Hope you like the recipe. My next one will probably be what I’ve been making a lot of this month corn bread. But the recipe is more of what I eat with it rather than how I make it. I will tell you about that later.
These are the choices of what my next recipe will probably be… corn bread, Not your regular Mac and Cheese, a three colored Pasta salad, Mini Chocolate Molten cake or what I make all the time my Roasted Chicken recipe.
We’ll see… I will probably post it sometime next week.
Enjoy your Zeppolli!!!

Comments
One Response to “Zeppolli Recipe”
  1. weightlossecretstore says:

    Thank you for sharing these recipes with us. I have tried some of these recipes and the results have been good :).

Leave a Reply

