God wants Fruit not Nuts…

It usually happens like this;

Matthew 7:6

6 “Don’t waste what is holy on people who are unholy. Don’t throw your pearls to pigs! They will trample the pearls, then turn and attack you.

Someone mentioned that verse to me once.  I’m thinking about the unholy… you have to notice you are unholy in order to ask God to make you holy. Some people are not concerned about being unholy because we aren’t shown images in media or society that portray holiness. Our only example of holiness is Jesus. He is true holiness.

What does holiness mean anyway? I’m going to look it up…

Bible Dictionary

Holiness definition

in the highest sense belongs to God (Isa. 6:3; Rev. 15:4), and to Christians as consecrated to God’s service, and in so far as they are conformed in all things to the will of God (Rom. 6:19, 22; Eph. 1:4; Titus 1:8; 1 Pet. 1:15). Personal holiness is a work of gradual development. It is carried on under many hindrances, hence the frequent admonitions to watchfulness, prayer, and perseverance (1 Cor. 1:30; 2 Cor. 7:1; Eph. 4:23, 24). (See SANCTIFICATION.)

Easton’s 1897 Bible Dictionary
That sounds like something that pleases God.  I’m pretty sure he’s involved in making it happen.
What about….

“Don’t throw your pearls to pigs! They will trample the pearls, then turn and attack you.”

ok so throwing something is because you want someone to catch whatever you are throwing…

pearls are valuable, they are found in the sea, are expensive, and usually are inherited in jewelry and passed down through generations…depending on your culture.

The first part of the verse is referring to people…the word pig as described in the dictionary says; a person of piglike character, behavior, or habits, as one who is gluttonous, very fat, greedy, selfish, or filthy.

That’s messed up… for the sake of finding out what this verse means I’m going to take out the insulting stuff and focus on the unfortunate characteristics of modern life… Greedy, selfish and filthy.

I’m sure the filthy part is not like outward dirty, more like impurity of the heart. Such as nasty words, disrespect,  pride, or indifference.  There’s more but lets keep it simple. Greed is also … assorted, but it can also be possessive.  Selfish is like greedy but … you are getting something and you are not going to give any of what you have away. It’s like pride…its all about you and forget about everyone else. I guess.

“They will trample the pearls, then turn and attack you.”

Ok so pigs only think about themselves, they don’t eat pearls so they don’t see it as something valuable.  They trample what you throw at them then turn and attack you.

First off I don’t see too many people throwing pearls cause they are too selfish. Jesus did say not to throw them.

But anyway to conclude…yes I will blog about anything…and make a very long explanation about it all. Over think it and wonder off in thought about random stuff like for example I was thinking about Miss Piggy and Kermit the frog during this long explanation. ( It just happens… weird yes I know.)

At the end I got the simple conclusion that what Jesus was saying was… that he likes it when I’m thinking about what he says. Also what he meant to say was … I should not give something I value to someone who will not appreciate it.

But like these days sometimes you meet people that are so greedy that they’ll even take what you give them… not caring about the value but just to say that they have it. It’s like something else they can add. Or like you have it…so what, I can have it too … give it.  Meanwhile the thing is there but the person puts it aside and pays no mind to it.

I’m always looking to sow a seed…I say Lord this is your word, let it grow on good soil.  I keep finding out who the pigs are, they are usually very defensive, always offended and they hurt my feelings cause they do attack. The good soil is quite, it observes, it takes in the seed, absorbs living water and something starts to sprout.

When I was a teenager in bible study… I will always remember when the word of God started making sense. Our bible studies teacher read

Mark 4: 1-20… I was like wow God/Jesus is awesome.  Then I had to hear all the other ones. Eventually you get to John 15 and you’re like in love with the lord. I love all the parables but those two show me how much God loves me. My Lord got skills!

People who don’t know the scale of God’s love for us might proclaim that the parables are fairy tales. They do this because they see them as the pigs see the pearls.

Now read the verse from the beginning of the chapter, and what Jesus said before that;

Matthew 7

Do Not Judge Others
“Do not judge others, and you will not be judged. 2 For you will be treated as you treat others. The standard you use in judging is the standard by which you will be judged.

3 “And why worry about a speck in your friend’s eye when you have a log in your own? 4 How can you think of saying to your friend, ‘Let me help you get rid of that speck in your eye,’ when you can’t see past the log in your own eye? 5 Hypocrite! First get rid of the log in your own eye; then you will see well enough to deal with the speck in your friend’s eye.

6 “Don’t waste what is holy on people who are unholy. Don’t throw your pearls to pigs! They will trample the pearls, then turn and attack you.

You should really read the whole chapter its good advice.

I am going to continue my study on this chapter. The next verses I will study will be verses  21-23.

Matthew 7: 21-23

21 “Not everyone who calls out to me, ‘Lord! Lord!’ will enter the Kingdom of Heaven. Only those who actually do the will of my Father in heaven will enter. 22 On judgment day many will say to me, ‘Lord! Lord! We prophesied in your name and cast out demons in your name and performed many miracles in your name.’ 23 But I will reply, ‘I never knew you. Get away from me, you who break God’s laws.’

That’s deep. It kinda makes me want to say… Hello Lord, nice to meet you! Can we talk?!?!  Do you know me now…as apposed to can you hear me now?

Heb 4:12-13

2 Corinthians 6: 1-2


Leave a comment