Word Study

Jesus said;

Matthew 7: 21-23

21 “Not everyone who calls out to me, ‘Lord! Lord!’ will enter the Kingdom of Heaven. Only those who actually do the will of my Father in heaven will enter. 22 On judgment day many will say to me, ‘Lord! Lord! We prophesied in your name and cast out demons in your name and performed many miracles in your name.’ 23 But I will reply, ‘I never knew you. Get away from me, you who break God’s laws.’

This is very simple to understand. Many people can call out the name of the Lord, but how many actually show concern or dedicate themselves to doing the will of God? If a person can make the effort to change or show love to a significant other why can’t they do the same for God?

It might be because he is invisible. Some people don’t believe in something unless they see it. Some people feel that they can get away with murder because God is unseen, they have no fear of God. They don’t take into consideration the commands that God established (The Ten Commandments). They also say well God says he forgives us and Jesus said to forgive 77 times 7 times, and I’m a sinner so it’s okay God will forgive me.

Let’s see the verse again…

Matthew 7: 21-23

21 “Not everyone who calls out to me, ‘Lord! Lord!’ will enter the Kingdom of Heaven. Only those who actually do the will of my Father in heaven will enter. 22 On judgment day many will say to me, ‘Lord! Lord! We prophesied in your name and cast out demons in your name and performed many miracles in your name.’ 23 But I will reply, ‘I never knew you. Get away from me, you who break God’s laws.’

God’s laws are clear. He wants us to acknowledge him although we can’t see him. He wants us to respect each other. He also wants us to be responsible for our actions and the way we choose to live. Faith in Christ produces fruit, sincerity, and a heart of compassion. You can fool some, but you can not fool God. He sees and knows all things.  He can not forgive a heart that is unwilling to acknowledge him, or a heart that does not want to know him. If you acknowledge him you will do what he says you should do. If you know him you will know and do the words he spoke.

Jesus said;

Matthew 7:24

24 “Anyone who listens to my teaching and follows it is wise, like a person who builds a house on solid rock.

The way I see it, once you know the truth,  you won’t want to live a lie.  You also  (most definitely) will not want someone else to live a lie either.

Leave a Reply

