♥ acknowledgment ♥

I had this cd in college… “Blame it on me” – Alana Davis.  I was thinking about it the other day. As I listen to it now… I understand it differently. This record is an accurate hot mess of reality.  I don’t know why she sang “32 Flavors” differently than Ani Difranco… she didn’t sing some middle parts of the song.  Anyway… some of these songs are deep.  I just heard the last one on this list (it’s also the last one on the cd ) and I was like praise the LORD for Christian music. I mean praise and worship music.  She’s Not a christian artist , nor is it christian music… but I just started thinking … and thinking… Nowadays, some “christian music” is too much in that it talks about everything but Jesus. Almost like it’s all about the suffering. At least when Paul complained he would always say… it’s for a good cause. Jesus suffered the most out of any human, and he was supernatural, but he was no punk.  God knew we would never understand that HE understands what we endure. We would never understand him,  if it were not for his act of love on the cross.

I just started typing and started talking about God. Listen,  it just happens.  If I hear one more person talk about “Super Spiritual Christians”, I’m just gonna keep on hearing about it.

The whole phrase about “being too spiritual that you are no earthly good” … is a hot mess.

I can say so many things about that, but I’m just going to say this. The statement ignores Christ (God/Holy Spirit) who not only was too spiritual but was the spirit of God made flesh. I believe with all my heart that he is  good for the whole world and of great effect. He is spirit, truth and very much alive.  I have no idea where that phrase came from, but I’ve heard it mentioned far too much without the person even recognizing that God did not call us to judge each other. Experience is a good teacher… and the spirit of the Lord was and is of great affect to this woman (me) who was once of the world.  I gotta put up with the world, I am physically here but my soul is the Lords and the spirit of the Lord is upon me.  Jesus prayed and payed the price for me to have that freedom.  If that’s what it took for me to understand it … that’s what he did for me to get it.

Read John 17: 6-18

This is Alana Davis…

I use to have this cd on repeat…because I loved the musical/instrumental part of it. Now I’m reading the lyrics and I’m like wow… hot mess. I understand it.

on another thought….

I saw Anne of Green Gables (the movie) the other day with my little cousins that I was taking care of. There’s a part in it where Anne tells Marilla ” Can’t you even IMAGINE you’re in the depths of despair? ” and Marilla says, “No I cannot. To despair is to turn your back on God.”  It’s kind of funny, from the movie you sense that Marilla’s character was “religious” and she told Anne she Had to pray. Anne said she did not care much for God because he gave her red hair and she hated her red hair. Anne agreed to pray anyways because she was desperate to live with them and her only prayer was that she could remain in their house. (You need to see the movie… )  Lol…It’s a funny scene. I like how Marilla tells her that her prayer was more like a business letter because it was so formal.

I always think about what Marilla said ” To despair is to turn your back on God “. I do admit though that there are many times I think I have to be desperate for God, but then I’m like duh he said he would never leave me.  Then I think to myself, where have I gone or been that makes me feel that I have to be desperate?  It’s usually when I’ve been distracted, or someone has gone out of their way to upset me with idle words or actions.  Me no like pain.

Do you like pain? I won’t hurt you… so please don’t hurt me.

In my heart I want to believe that God would want us to be this way… one body in Christ in that whatever hurts you, hurts me. Everyone is so easy to share joy, but there rarely are people who want to heal with you  in your pain.  It helps us to understand God’s will in Christ.

This blog post is all over the place…well it’s nice to meet you. How you doin’ ?

Leave a Reply

